The Magic That Is Darren Criss

Darren Criss

I’ve discovered a new favorite. Favorite what, I’m not entirely certain — favorite actor, favorite singer, favorite sorta-celebrity, favorite random-recent-college-grad-I-don’t-actually-know. All I know is that Darren Criss is, if you’ll pardon the A Very Potter Musical allusion, totally awesome.

He sings; he plays piano; he plays guitar; he starred in and co-wrote the music for A Very Potter Musical and A Very Potter Sequel

He’s Blaine (the pretty, preppy gay boy from Dalton Academy) on Glee, and I’m pretty much addicted to the video of him singing “Teenage Dream” (it makes me wish I could have gone to Dalton Academy to be a member of the Warblers).

Teenage Dream

He always wears pink sunglasses, and he’s adorably modest and normal.

In fact, I think that what I like best about Darren Criss is that he seems like such a normal guy — granted, an incredibly talented one, but an everyday sort of person nonetheless. He sort of seems like someone I could’ve known from college or high school, not some distant celebrity.

Plus, he sang an interview for Rolling Stone.

Hey Soul Sister

Baby, It’s Cold Outside

Not Alone

 

 

12 responses to “The Magic That Is Darren Criss

  1. He’s very quickly becoming my “favorite sorta-celebrity” too!
    He really does have a je ne sais quoi that makes him irresistible to follow eternally on the internet. Katie thinks that he’s a ham when he performs and I have to agree with her, but that’s what makes him so fun to watch:D

  2. Hey, my favorite too. i first saw him last summer on youtube in AVPM. i fell in love and watched everything else there is that he is in!!! then he came on glee! i love that show, so i was amazing. his new haircut is so yucky!!

    • Really, you don’t like his haircut? That’s too bad. Do you mean his hairstyle as Blaine? I actually like it; I think, among other things, it helps to differentiate between Blaine and Darren.

  3. Pingback: World Spinner

  4. Pingback: Somewhere Only We Know | Beyond Bryn Mawr

  5. Pingback: Darren Criss, Chris Colfer, and Candles = Perfection | Beyond Bryn Mawr

  6. Pingback: Glee Live Was So Amazing! | Beyond Bryn Mawr

  7. Pingback: A Collection of Thoughts Regarding the 65th Annual Tony Awards | Beyond Bryn Mawr

  8. Pingback: Darren Criss and Apple Juice: So Freaking Adorable | Beyond Bryn Mawr

  9. Pingback: I Want To See Glee: The 3D Concert Movie (and Darren Criss)! | Beyond Bryn Mawr

  10. Pingback: My Dream Concert | Beyond Bryn Mawr

Leave a Reply

