Daily Archives: 5:21 PM, February 15, 2011

The Chance to Make a Difference: Transformative Justice Law Project of Illinois

If you’ve followed my blog at all, you’ve likely heard of the Transformative Justice Law Project (TJLP), as I’ve blogged about it numerous times before. (I would like to state for the record, however, that anything on my blog other than the following letter is my own opinion and not necessarily reflective of TJLP.) TJLP is an amazing organization and really has changed my life. Please read the following letter from TJLP, reposted with their permission, and consider making a donation.

Continue reading

Catholicism Confuses Me: Sacred Vessels

Another thing I don’t understand about the Catholic church is the insistence on using expensive materials for the glasses and plate (chalices and patens) used in communion — the Roman Missal, Third Edition, issued by the Holy See in 2000, states, “Sacred vessels are to be made from precious metal. If they are made from metal that rusts or from a metal less precious than gold, then ordinarily they should be gilded on the inside.” Continue reading