In Honor of Pi Day: Hoosier Mama Pie Company

In honor of National Pi Day, I decided to make today’s post be about Hoosier Mama Pie Company. Hoosier Mama Pie Company has been on my list of places to try before I leave Chicago, and I’ve finally made the trip. It was absolutely worth it. So much so, as a matter of fact, that I’ve gone back several times (that it’s within walking distance of my apartment has a seriously negative effect on my ability to deny my pie cravings).

Hoosier Mama Pie Company

On my first trip, after much consideration, I went with the suggestions of one of the people working there, and I bought two pieces of pie, one sweet and one savory, and decided to call it lunch.

I started with dessert because the savory pie needed to be warmed and so took an extra ten minutes. Coconut Custard Pie — so absolutely amazing. The custard was silky and smooth and tasted of coconut. There was toasted coconut on top, and the pie crust was flaky and light. I could eat it every day.

Coconut Custard Pie at Hoosier Mama Pie Company

Then I got my savory pie, the Pork Sage Apple. It was flavorful and juicy. The chunks of apple gave it a nice sweetness. The crust was almost like puff pastry. It may not be the prettiest of pies, but it tasted fantastic.

Pork Sage Apple Pie

After my first trip to Hoosier Mama, I couldn’t get the image of their incredible looking Banana Cream Pie out of my head, so I made another trip back to the pie shop. Unfortunately, by the time I got there, they were out of the Banana Cream Pie. All of the pies looked tempting, though, so I couldn’t bring myself to leave without pie.

Banana Cream Pies at Hoosier Mama Pie Company

The crust of the Buttermilk Pie was still everything a pie crust should be. The pie filling, however, was not so much a custard as a sweet, lemony goo on the bottom and something almost like a sponge cake or a fluffy, really soft sugar cookie on top. I was a little disappointed because I was really hoping for a nice custardy texture, but it was still good.

Buttermilk Pie

I got the Oatmeal pie because the guy in front of me was raving about it (he’d ordered a full one for next day). Described as a cross between an oatmeal cookie and a pecan pie (except with oatmeal instead of pecans), it’s certainly not a typical pie. The top part is nicely spicy (some ginger, perhaps?); the bottom is a little more like custard than the saccharine goo of many pecan pies. Actually, it was definitely gingery — it brought back an extremely sudden memory of the soft, warm gingerbread cookies they’d sell at Dayton’s (you can call it Macy’s if you must; I’m calling it Dayton’s) holiday display on the 8th floor.

Oatmeal Pie

And now for the pie that I purchased in honor of Pi Day, the Chicken Pot Pie (which I almost ordered on my first trip) and the Banana Cream Pie for which I have been waiting so long.

I could smell the chicken pot pie as I waited — either it was my pie, or it was the pie belonging to the person sitting behind me, but the aroma of Hoosier Mama Chicken Pot Pie is out of this world. The chicken is so tender. The pie was an actual pie (not just a bowl of soupy chicken with crust on top, like some places). It wasn’t really saucy; it just had a little sauce clinging to the pieces of chicken and vegetables (carrots, potatoes, peas — and even the peas were tasty, and I’m really not a fan of cooked peas). It was pretty much perfect, and I’d say that it’s at least the best chicken pot pie I’ve had.

Chicken Pot Pie

The Banana Cream Pie was incredible. It had a light and fluffy filling, almost like whipped cream except it was more substantial. The filling was smooth and flecked with bits of vanilla bean. It was heaped with gorgeous white chocolate shavings. The slices of banana within the pie were fresh and yummy, even though I’m usually picky about my bananas. It was worth the wait.

Banana Cream Pie

I cannot recommend Hoosier Mama Pie Company highly enough. I’ve now tried half a dozen of their pies, and they were all delicious (although the Coconut Custard was my favorite of the sweet pies).

5 responses to “In Honor of Pi Day: Hoosier Mama Pie Company

  1. Ok – I’m coming to Chicago and we are having PI! Love you Mom

  2. Hey-hey! I saw you when you were in between pot pie & banana cream… all so good, no? In case you were wondering, I AM the Foursquare Mayor of Hoosier Mama, so thanks for visiting my people and enjoying our pie. (LOL) I’d have to say that the naneer-cream is probably one of my all time favs, but wouldn’t you know they keep mixing it up so we go back to try the seasonal pies. Maybe I’ll see you in there another time, I am in the hood. *Note: have you tried the new Mexican grill, fresh in the hood from it’s Pilsen roots? Carbon Live Grill on Marshfield just north of Chicago. I get their carne asade burrito bowl – WITHOUT THE BOWL. Sprinkle with a little of their roasted red pepper salsa on it, que buena onda! :)

    • Hi! You’re the Foursquare Mayor of Hoosier Mama? Wow, then clearly, you didn’t need my input about how fabulous the chicken pot pie is. :) I’m thinking that next time I go, I might try the pear pie . . . and possibly the chocolate chess. Or maybe the chocolate cream pie and a different fruit pie. As much as I probably shouldn’t, it appears that buying in slices of two is just how I work. They’re just so good! And I’m just so indecisive!

      I’ll only be in the city for the next few weeks, but maybe I’ll see you again — there’s no way I’m leaving Chicago without having more pie at Hoosier Mama. Thanks you for the recommendation — I haven’t tried Carbon Live Grill, but if I get a chance, I might check it out. Thanks! And thank you for checking out my blog!

  3. Pingback: Even More Pie from Hoosier Pie Company | Beyond Bryn Mawr

Leave a Reply

