Dar Williams and “Midnight Radio”

When Dar performed at Bryn Mawr in 2010, she introduced “Midnight Radio” by saying that her friend, Stephen Trask, had told her to come see a play for which he’d written the music. It turned out to be Hedwig and the Angry Inch. The moral of the story? “Support your friends in theatre.”

Dar continued, “He wrote this song, and I thought, ‘Oh my gosh, this is the man who taught me not just how to love music, and all of the music that I love . . . he also taught me . . . the reverence for the people who listen to music and need that music.” And so she asked him if she could do the song, and he said that he would be honored.

This isn’t the full song (which you can find on her excellent album Promised Land), but I think it captures that beautiful, almost dreamy quality of her version of “Midnight Radio.” Also, I love that it’s her friend’s song and how much music clearly means to her.

Leave a Reply

