Hello, Cruel World

Actually the title of this post is a bit of a joke–whenever a person creates a new blog on WordPress, the demo first post is called “Hello World,” which always (this is my third WordPress blog, so I’ve a little experience with those posts) makes me think of the lovely Kate Bornstein‘s wonderful book Hello, Cruel World: 101 Alternatives to Suicide for Teens, Freaks, and Other Outlaws.

In other news, I am now in Chicago! I moved into the apartment (by which I actually mean, “my amazing parents moved me into the apartment, along with help from my two fabulous roommates”) a while ago. And (drumroll, please) I have successfully managed to take care of myself on my own since then. While this may not seem like an achievement, it certainly feels like one, given that I’ve actually never had an apartment before (thank my excellent relationship with my parents and the fabulous castles . . . I mean, dorms . . . at the Mawr).

I live in Wicker Park, and the apartment is conveniently located close to a train station, so I can get downtown (into the Loop? I’m still working on the terminology) easily. My roommates are awesome; I couldn’t ask for better (not that my senior year suite with Naomi wasn’t great). Because I’ve been cooking, I’ve not yet had to resort to eating out, or ordering take-out, for my meals. I’m still job searching, but I’ve heard back from a few places, so I’m hoping that I will soon be employed.

All in all, things are going really excellently. I’ve met some awesome people. I actually went to a meeting today for Join The Impact Chicago at which I knew/recognized people I’d met last week. It’s great to see familiar faces in a room of strangers, especially in a new city. I’ve also joined GenderQueer Chicago, which is possibly the most exciting thing I’ve yet heard about in Chicago, and I’m really psyched about being involved with them.

I’ve even, potentially, found a church! I’m debating between two Unitarian Universalist churches — Third Unitarian and Second Unitarian. I visited Third Unitarian this past weekend, and they were really friendly and welcoming in that way I’ve noticed is customary of UU congregations. I’m planning on visiting Second Unitarian soon, but I might have already found my church. They’re both about an hour away, using public transportation, but I think it’ll be worth it.

And I think that basically sums up my life right now! Cliff Notes version: I’m in Chicago, and life is good.

Love and hugs to all!

3 responses to “Hello, Cruel World

  1. I didn’t know you were a UU! It feels really weird that you’re in Chicago and I’m here, but I’m glad you’re settling in nicely. (Yes, you mean the Loop.)

    • Heyhey! I’m actually not a UU. I discovered it spring 2009 when Ellen had the first UU informational meeting, and it was a complete revelation. I never thought I would go back to any religion, but Unitarian Universalism might be changing that. I’m actually really excited about becoming involved with a church. So, I might be a real UU in the future. We’ll see.

      Also, thanks (about the Loop, I mean) — it’s really frustrating not knowing how to refer to things here. And then I end up sounding like a tourist, but I now live here! So, any hints/tips you might have would be awesome. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Finally Back in Chicago | Beyond Bryn Mawr

Leave a Reply

