Wicked: My First Trip To Broadway

Megan Hilty and Eden Espinoza as Glinda and Elphaba in Wicked

Broadway is magic: I’ve always loved Broadway musicals. When I turned eighteen, my mom took me to New York for the weekend to see Wicked. It was the best birthday present ever. I could hardly believe that I was actually there, on Broadway, where it all happens.

"One Short Day"

I first heard the soundtrack in highschool. We actually sang songs from Wicked in choir twice — my junior year, we sang “For Good,” and we sang “Defying Gravity” my senior year. The music is amazing: some songs are playful and humorous, others pull at my heartstrings, still others are majestic and grand and just send shivers down my back.

"Popular"

The story itself is wonderful. I’ve read the book, but I like the musical better. I don’t want to give anything away, so I’ll just say that I like the ending of the musical much better. For all that it’s fantasy, there’s something very real and human about it, something that makes me care about them deeply.

"Defying Gravity"

Eden Espinoza and Megan Hilty, the two stars I saw on Broadway in the roles of Elphaba (originally played by Idina Menzel) and Glinda (originally played by Kristin Chenoweth):

3 responses to “Wicked: My First Trip To Broadway

  1. What a Show! this was such clever twist on the wizard of oz. Wicked had the best effects and costumes. The music was great and the cast was great. they all sang there heart out. I’m truly inlove with this show!!!!

  2. BEST SHOW ON BROADWAY! WICKED IS AMAZING AND I’VE SEEN IT TWICE!! it may not be everyone’s taste, but i for one, LOVEEEEEEED IT.

  3. Pingback: Broadway In Chicago: The Book of Mormon | Beyond Bryn Mawr

Leave a Reply

