Flogging Molly!

Flogging Molly's Nathen Maxwell and me at the Congress Theater

The Flogging Molly concert wasn’t like the Ani concert. At all. At the Ani concert, people actually appeared to act like vaguely civilized beings. To be honest (and perhaps this is obvious), Flogging Molly was my first big concert. The whole crowd-surfing thing was new to me; the absolutely ridiculous shoving and fighting that went on completely took me by surprise.

I got there when the doors opened and made new friends with a few people. That was nice. I was up in the very, very front, also nice. The music finally started around 7:30, and after two intro bands, Flogging Molly came on around 9:30. They were fantastic — so full of energy, and they looked like they were having a blast. The people in the crowd, though, were largely disgusting. There were a bunch of belligerent drunk people behind me commented numerous times about how the people in the front were going to die because they were going to get crushed. There was a ridiculous amount of shoving and pushing and fighting that the security needed to break up.

All of a sudden, one of the drunk frat-guy types was surrounding me, like behind me and both arms on either side of me holding onto the bar. I couldn’t move, and I got a little freaked out. I realized that I think he might’ve thought he was doing me a favor (keeping the rest of the crowd from shoving me too much) because after a bit, he said, “Don’t worry, I’ve got you” — my reaction was, “That’s what I’m worried about.” I just hadn’t realized what the crowds were like at shows like this. He left after a bit (he might’ve gone to fight with someone or something). I’m just glad that I don’t have trauma in my past that would make something like that be a trigger because it was uncomfortable enough as it was.

There was this one girl in particular (this skinny, sharp-elbowed person with a severe lack of manners)  who decided to pry, elbow, and kick her way to the front. At first, my reaction was to shove back a little — I was there first! After a particularly sharp kick (her to me, of course), I just gave up. Aside from the fact that I didn’t want to get hurt, it hit me that I was fighting with her (albeit in a kind of half-ass way because I’m really not a violent person). Over a place at a concert. That’s absurd. It’s so not worth it, and it’s not the kind of person I want to be. And anyway, I wasn’t holding my own — she had no qualms about hurting me, and I just don’t really ever want to hurt anyone. I just wanted to stand there and watch the concert! Was that really so much to ask?

I moved aside a bit, allowing the girl my place, and it went a bit better. There was still a stupid amount of pretty harsh shoving from the crowd at large, but at least the kicking stopped. One of the girls I’d met earlier ended up sort of shielding me from a fair amount of the crowd (in a far less creepy way than the dude) — partly, it was where she was standing, and partly, she mentioned afterwards, she felt bad about me being so pushed around.

There were a lot of things about the concert that made me uncomfortable. I almost regretted I hadn’t bought the ticket (partly because it took forever for Flogging Molly to actually start performing, and not only have I had a very long day, but I have a very long day tomorrow, too; partly because the effort it took to just stay standing at times made it difficult to pay attention to the concert).

However, Flogging Molly truly gives a fantastic live performance. Plus, Bob Schmidt shook my hand after the show, and Nathen Maxwell kissed my cheek and took a photo with me. That was pretty awesome. All in all, it was a fabulous show, and I’m glad I went.

5 responses to “Flogging Molly!

  1. Oh no! What a creepy guy! I didn’t know about him! I’m glad I could help you out in keeping a relatively good spot though and I hope that you did have fun. At least you know what to expect if you decide to go to another show but they aren’t all that rough. I was surprised as much as you were. Don’t get me wrong shows can be pretty brutal but that was really really brutal but totally worth it to me.

    • Thanks for helping out! I did have fun, even though I was really taken back by how rough it was. Definitely, I’ll keep that in mind for next time. It’s good to know, though, that they aren’t all that bad.

  2. Pingback: Uncomfortably Gendered at the Flogging Molly Concert | Beyond Bryn Mawr

  3. Pingback: Rihanna at the Target Center | Beyond Bryn Mawr

  4. Pingback: CNBLUE: My New Favorite Band | Beyond Bryn Mawr

Leave a Reply

