A Birthday Blog Post

It’s my birthday! I am now 23.

Birthdays always make me feel a bit reflective; it makes me think about how my life has changed in the past year — about what’s important to me, what I want to do with my life, what’s going on in my life.

First of all, I’m going to take this opportunity to once again promote TJLP — they’re amazing. I’ve posted about them a bunch before (here about the Name Change Mobilizations at the Daley Center, here about wanting to be a mermaid, here about how much I love TJLP and what it is, here about how to donate). They’re wonderful, and they do a lot of really fantastic work for trans and gender non-conforming people here in Chicago. If you feel like donating to a worthy cause (and seriously, even five or ten dollars can make a difference), you can make checks out to “Transformative Justice Law Project” and send them to:

The Transformative Justice Law Project
2040 N. Milwaukee Ave.
Chicago, IL 60647

On to the next part of the post: I’ve got a lot going on in my life right now. I’m trying to find a job; I’m moving back to Minnesota; I’m starting to transition; I’m trying to figure out what I want to do over the next several years. I’m navigating life after college (after 16 years of schooling, not being in classes in quite a change).

Do you have any thoughts, suggestions, or advice for me? Whether you are 23, were once 23, look forward to eventually being 23 — it’s doesn’t matter. Whatever you want to say. 🙂 Words of wisdom, warnings about what not to do, anecdotes  about what was going on for you . . . it’s all good.

Happy birthday to anyone else who has a birthday today. Pisces Power!

2 responses to “A Birthday Blog Post

  1. Hey, Once again, Happy 23rd Birthday 🙂 I think I have now assulted you on every technilogical front to wish you a happy birthday….the wonders of technology. In my opinion you should take some time to just figure out where your life is going, and if you want it to go there. After every semester, I sit down and re-evaluate what I am doing, so I can see what corrections I need to make, and if my life is really going the way I want it to. Right now, I can say with confidence that I probably have the next 5 years of my life pretty well mapped out, though I realize there is plenty of room for things to go off my plan…..mostly only bad things…so hopefully none of those will happen. Know what you want and do what it takes to get there. You can achieve anything. Sounds corny, I know, but I think anyone who has the will do make something happen, whether it be a long-shot vision or a very simple everday task such as doing laundry twice weekly, anything is possible. So I guess my main advice would be to merge your heart and mind. Envision what you want, even if it sounds unreachable. And then put the plan in drive and don’t stop until you reach your destination 🙂
    Happy Birthday. Best wishes
    -Caitie

  2. Happy Birthday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

