My Anthem: P!nk’s “Raise Your Glass”

I adore P!nk’s song “Raise Your Glass.” It’s a really catchy song, it’s a ton of fun to sing along to, and when I think of an anthem, it’s the first song that comes to mind.

The Merriam-Webster online dictionary lists one definition of “anthem” as “a usually rousing popular song that typifies or is identified with a particular subculture, movement, or point of view.” Another definition is “a song or hymn of praise or gladness.” “Raise Your Glass” is a complete celebration of being the other, being different — being, as P!nk puts it, “wrong in all the right ways.”

As P!nk puts it in her “Raise Your Glass” behind the scenes video, “It’s about being an underdog and about celebrating imperfections and celebrating the fact that we’re ‘dirty little freaks.'” There is so much about the song that I love. I love that it’s celebrating difference instead of minimizing it and promoting assimilation and conformity. I love that it’s irreverent and doesn’t take itself too seriously. I love that it’s celebratory and fun, but there’s also an element of defiance.

The song absolutely speaks to me of being queer and trans, in a totally transtastic, radical queermo kind of way (even though it’s neither intentionally, nor explicitly, about being trans or queer). It’s about living our lives according to our own rules, not according to society’s ideas of what perfect little boys and girls should do. It’s about being smart (“too school for cool”) and refusing to be silenced (“We will never be, never be, anything but loud and nitty gritty”).

I’m not trying to say that “Raise Your Glass” is a perfect song or that it exactly reflects my life. I can say, though, that listening to it always puts me in a better mood.

3 responses to “My Anthem: P!nk’s “Raise Your Glass”

  1. Pingback: My Anthem: P!nk's “Raise Your Glass” | Beyond Bryn Mawr :P!nk

  2. Pingback: No More “Wish I May” | Beyond Bryn Mawr

  3. Pingback: My Dream Concert | Beyond Bryn Mawr

Leave a Reply

