Congratulations, BMC 2011!

Today, the Bryn Mawr College class of 2011 got their diplomas and became alums. While a small part of me wants to say “You’ll always be freshmen to me” (in the most loving way possible), I am instead going to offer them a most sincere congratulations. It seems a little absurd that they’ve now graduated: it almost seems like I just graduated myself — it doesn’t even seem that long ago that Bryn Mawr’s newest  alums were frosh going through Parade Night or our hellees during Hell Week.

Unfortunately, I didn’t plan this blog post very well: I could have sworn that I’d be posting it tomorrow. It seems that Bryn Mawr has cut short Senior Week this year because I distinctly remember Garden Parties being on Saturday and the receiving my diploma on Sunday last year. It wasn’t until I noticed Facebook statuses today about receiving diplomas and becoming alums that I realized they’d changed things up. . . . Also, I checked the BMC website about commencement.

A year goes by so quickly! I vividly remember my own last May Day and Step Sing, my own Senior Week, my own commencement. The tears, the laughter, the drinks (it was Senior Week, after all), the amazing memories. It makes me miss Bryn Mawr fiercely.

And yet, so very much has happened in the past year. I’ve grown and changed and had some incredible experiences, and I am so excited for the class of 2011 and what awaits them now that they’re done with Bryn Mawr.

Anassa kata, kalo kale Ia ia ia Nike 
Bryn Mawr, Bryn Mawr, Bryn Mawr!
Congratulations, Class of 2011! You have a brilliant future ahead of you.
2 responses to “Congratulations, BMC 2011!

  1. Ryan!!!!! Can you believe that we graduated a whole year ago?!? wtf?

    I was actually able to go to graduation today. I’m flying back to Michigan tomorrow, but I was able to squeeze it in. They really f-ed up the schedule this year for a series of the most ridiculous reasons possible. Garden party was actually today after graduation and the speaker spoke at graduation, so convocation (which was yesterday afternoon) has pretty much become completely pointless. At any rate, I can’t believe our frosh babies are all grown up! (also that we’re all grown up, but I guess that’s a conversation for another day…)

    Anyway, I’m really looking forward to seeing you in July!

  2. Ryan! I wish you had been there . . . I feel a little cheated that I didn’t get to see you at May Day last year. Thank you for being an exceptionally wonderful heller with a delightful sense of humor and much thoughtfulness. You are both warmly genuine and sincere and I hope we will see each other at some point soon.

    Bread and roses,
    Katherine

Leave a Reply

