Meeting the Authors of Queer (In)Justice

Joey Mogul, speaking about Queer (In)Justice at DePaul Law School

A few months ago, I went to a reception and reading of Queer (In)Justice at DePaul Law School (after another successful name change mobilization by TJLP). It was amazing. Two of the authors, Joey Mogul and Andrea Ritchie, spoke, and they were awesome. 

I realized that I’d actually attended a workshop called “Policing Sex, Policing Gender: The Impacts of Gentrification and Quality of Life Policing on LGBT People” by Andrea Ritchie last year at Swarthmore College, as part of their 2010 Queer Issues Symposium. It was an excellent workshop — something I’ve really taken with me (although, to be completely honest, I got a little distracted for a while by the fact that Dean Spade‘s lecture followed her workshop).

Andrea Ritchie speaking about Queer (In)Justice

Both Joey Mogul and Andrea Ritchie were incredibly approachable, intelligent, passionate speakers. Very gracious in their praise of, and appreciation for, the people and organizations who have helped them (as well as each other).

It was really a wonderful experience. I even got Joey Mogul and Andrea Ritchie to sign my copy of their book with a personalized message, and I got a couple of other people mentioned in the book to write a message in my book. They are fantastic, and I highly recommend Queer (In)Justice to anyone and everyone.

2 responses to “Meeting the Authors of Queer (In)Justice

  1. Pingback: The New Jim Crow: The #1 Book I Recommend | Beyond Bryn Mawr

  2. Pingback: 2011: A Year In Blog Posts | Beyond Bryn Mawr

Leave a Reply

