Music From My Dad

It being Father’s Day, I’ve been thinking  a lot about my dad and all that he’s done for me. It’s quite a long list, including both the big things like always loving and supporting me and smaller things like making my favorite bolognese and beef stew when I’m home. He has also influenced my musical tastes — Beach Boys, Buddy Holly, Bob Dylan, Simon & Garfunkel, various folk songs.

The Beach Boys are so much fun. I love them. It’s such great summer music! My dad and I were in the car the other day, some of The Beach Boys’ greatest hits cranked up loud, and singing along. It completely make up for the fact that we were stuck in traffic.

Buddy Holly is great. His songs are so much fun to sing to. Bob Dylan used to live in the same town in which my dad grew up. . . or something like that. I just remember my dad pointing out his old house when we went up north to visit my paternal  grandparents.

Folk Song America is a wonderful CD that my dad played all the time when I was growing up. It has plenty of excellent songs — “Jamaica Farewell,” “Tom Dolley,” “M.T.A.,” “The Banana Boat Song (Day O).” When I went to folk sings in college, we’d sing those songs (especially “M.T.A.,” given that a number of people there were from the Boston area), and it’d always make me think of my dad. We sang a few Simon & Garfunkel songs, too.

Over the years, I’ve realized that my dad has good taste in music (even though he isn’t a fan of Broadway musicals), and I’ve come to really enjoy sharing music we both love with him.

One response to “Music From My Dad

  1. Pingback: Music From My Dad | Kids say :

Leave a Reply

