It Will Always Be Camp Snoopy To Me

Oh, amusement park at the Mall of America, you'll always be Camp Snoopy to me.

While I was at the Mall of America the other day, I was rudely reminded that Camp Snoopy no longer exists — or at least, not as I knew and loved it. For several years, when I was little, my parents would take several of my friends and me to Camp Snoopy for my birthday. We’d get wristbands and run around the park all day, riding all the rides. It was glorious. Camp Snoopy has a very special place in my heart. And now, that timeless, lovable Camp Snoopy has been replaced by Nickelodeon Universe.

Formerly known as Camp Snoopy

Garish orange and yellow cover the park. The Kite-Eating Tree is no longer a tree. There are several big, orange roller coaster monstrosities.

I didn’t know it was even possible to cram so much into one already rather full, not especially large, space.

I’m aware that I’m overreacting. The roller coasters are likely a lot of fun. It could all be far more obnoxiously orange. Nickelodeon is better than it could be (I suppose it could be Barbie, or Bratz dolls, or something even worse). And I do generally try not to insult things that aren’t actually problematic, oppressive, or offensive. (To the best of my current knowledge) Nickelodeon Universe is simply not part of my beloved childhood memories. It really doesn’t deserve the negativity I’m aiming at it.

Still, it’s a little saddening to have such indisputable, obvious evidence in front of me that the Camp Snoopy of my childhood no longer exists. Yes, I’m (ostensibly) an adult, and I haven’t actually been to Camp Snoopy in years. But it really was great, and I can’t help but feel that children are missing out on something by not having Camp Snoopy. Peanuts — with Charlie Brown, Snoopy, and the rest — is a classic. Nickelodeon is clearly popular, but will SpongeBob SquarePants, Dora the Explorer, and the like be able to stand the test of time?

3 responses to “It Will Always Be Camp Snoopy To Me

  1. I grew up near Stillwater MN and going to the mall of America was a huge annual treat for me an my family. Often it was for either back to school shopping or on black Friday (My parents were crazy to take 5 children through the mall on black Friday). Camp Snoopy was THE thing! I always insisted on going into the park despite my parent’s several attempts to avoid it. The kite eating tree and the log shoot were my favorites as a kid. A few years ago I had the opportunity to go back to the park with some friends of mine. It was shortly after camp snoopy went orange. The trip didn’t work out, but it was probably for the best. Those childhood memories would have been tainted…
    No, you’re not overreacting. I feel as though a bit of my childhood was taken away and “slimed” on.
    I loved Nickelodeon as a child, but it shouldn’t have killed snoopy….

  2. I guess that means the giant snoopy moon bounce is gone? And I remember there was a large ferris wheel that you could ride and see all of camp snoopy from the top. It reminds me of my childhood visiting my grandparents in Minneapolis. My grandma used to love to take me to camp snoopy. She grab some caribou coffee and sit and watch play around on the snoopy moon bounce. I haven’t been back in a really long time. It looks like it’s still probably a lot of fun for today’s children, but the beauty of camp snoopy was that charles schultz (the creator of Peanuts, but I don’t have to tell YOU that!) was a native minnesotan. Nickelodeon just feels so corporate and not local. Not that kids these days can really tell the difference…

  3. I went to Camp Snoopy EVERY WEEK!!! Now I haven’t been there in 3 years… When it first opened Dora tried to hug me O_O I’m still a kid and even I know that it was extremely wrong to get rid of snoopy we got a beagle and named her snoopy she was 3 when she died :’( she died shortly after nickelodeon opened I have pics of snoopy and woodstock on my mirror…

    Snoopy and peanuts characters will forever live on in my heart <3

Leave a Reply

