This Will Be A Good Weekend

I’m spending this weekend up north, at the cabin of a family friend. They moved to the West coast years ago, and we rarely see them, so I’m excited to spend time with them. I walked in the door tonight and was greeted by old friends, enthusiastic puppies, an excellent Cosmo, and warm chocolate chip cookies. Clearly, this heralds the start of an amazing weekend. 

I’m looking forward to this weekend. These family friends (two sets of families, as well as my parents and me) are people I’ve known as long as I can remember, and they’re still really supportive of my transition. Members of both families have approached me tonight, apologizing for any future slip-ups they might make regarding names (which I fully understand, given that they’ve had twenty-plus years of calling me by a different name). As always, I told them that I understand and that I generally only take offense when a person intentionally calls me by my former name (which, incidentally, has not yet happened — I’ve been very, very lucky).

One response to “This Will Be A Good Weekend

  1. Sounds like a very excellent weekend.

Leave a Reply

