House Republicans Approved $1.5 Million to Defend DOMA

“It is absolutely unconscionable that Speaker Boehner is tripling the cost for his legal boondoggle to defend the indefensible Defense of Marriage Act,” said Drew Hammill, spokesman for House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.). “At a time when Americans are hurting and job creation should be the top priority, it just shows how out of touch House Republicans have become that they would spend up to $1.5 million dollars to defend discrimination in our country.”
–Amanda Terkel, The Huffington Post

This is ridiculous. No, wait, this is beyond ridiculous. I may need to check a thesaurus for a new word because, well, really? Are they serious? I know that the majority of Republicans in the House of Representatives are . . . shall we say, not people with whom I have many political views in common, but wanting to spend $1.5 million on a lawyer to defend the “Defense of Marriage” Act is just absurd. 

Of course, I think that DOMA is stupid to begin with. I find it outrageous that my tax money would be spent defending it. Beyond that, this is so completely hypocritical that I just have no words. House Republicans claim that they want to balance the budget and not raise the debt ceiling, and yet they think that spending over a million dollars in attorney fees over DOMA is a wise use of money? I just don’t get it. By now, though, I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised by what Republican politicians do.

Leave a Reply

