Holy Office: Jesus vs Doctor Who

As an avid fan of Doctor Who, I thought this comic was hilarious. My favorite bits were as follows:

Doctor Who follower: “He’s my Time Lord and Savior!”
Jesus follower: “But that’s just fiction!”
Doctor Who follower: “Please. At least I have video evidence of my messiah. All you have is, what? That collection of Jesus fanfic [the bible] there?”  

Doctor Who follower: “You can believe what you like, of course. That’s your choice. I just like a savior who has a talking robot dog and a flying phone booth.”
Jesus follower: “But Jesus came back from the dead!”
Doctor Who follower: “Pfeh. When he comes back eight more times, he can talk to me.”

I realize that Doctor Who is a TV show, of course, and the show doesn’t actually count as video evidence (unless Matt Smith, David Tennant, Christopher Eccleston, and the rest have something they’re hiding from us), but other than that, it’s not a bad argument. It reminds me a little of something I once read in, I believe, Richard Dawkins’ The God Delusion about the Flying Spaghetti Monster (basically that people in the Flying Spaghetti Monster based on faith alone, yet we don’t generally assume that because of that faith, the Flying Spaghetti Monster has just as good a chance of existing as not).

Aside from that, I just love Doctor Who, and it always tickles me when I see references to it.

Leave a Reply

