Chicago: The 51st State?

I saw this article saying that State Representative Bill Mitchell of Decatur wants to separate Cook County (the county that Chicago is in, my former county) from the rest of Illinois. Frankly, I don’t know what to say. It won’t happen, of course, but I’m just slightly dumbfounded. I don’t think I’ve heard anyone argue that a city should become its own state (excluding, perhaps, D.C., which is its own special case), let alone someone actually filing a bill to do so.

I’ve heard of people arguing that states should be their own country (California, for example, or Texas). I’ve seen the “Dear Red States” mock-secession letter, which, despite being politically incorrect, is humorous. But someone seriously trying to make Chicago the newest state (especially since there hasn’t been a new state in over half a century)? I just can’t wrap my mind around it.

One response to “Chicago: The 51st State?

  1. Hah, that would stop us from having to deal with East Coast people who make us go through the following:

    “You’re from Chicago? Where is that, again?”
    “Illinois.”
    “What are you talking about? No, it’s not.”

Leave a Reply

