The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (!!!)

I haven’t been this excited for a movie since The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, back in 2003. That’s rather fitting, given that the movie I am so eagerly anticipating is none other than The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, the first part of Peter Jackson’s film interpretation of the brilliant J. R. R. Tolkien’s fantastic The Hobbit. I just saw the trailer, and it looks amazing — almost like a continuation (pre-continuation? prequel?) to LotR.

I am an enormous fan of The Lord of the Rings, and I was so in love with everything about the movies when they first came out. I have all of the extended edition DVD sets (for three years, my most exciting Christmas gift), a bunch of books about the making of the movies, the original books, movie posters, t-shirts, a trivial pursuit game about the movies, a book about Tolkien’s Elvish . . . like I said, it was a big deal to me. I adored the cast: I thought it would have been pretty much the coolest thing ever to have been part of the cast, especially part of the Fellowship cast (matching tattoos!).

I also love The Hobbit. I was eight the first time I read it, young enough that when I read it, it almost seemed like I was watching a movie in my head already. Combine that with my love of The Lord of the Rings, and it’s no wonder that I’m excited for this movie.

I’ve been excited about The Hobbit as a movie ever since I heard that Peter Jackson would be directing it (as far as I’m concerned, in my completely biased way, there’s no one else who should attempt it). Watching the movie trailer, everything just felt so beautifully in keeping with the world created with the LotR movies. From what I can tell from the trailer, they’ve got all of the relevant old cast back — Ian McKellen as Gandalf, Ian Holm as old Bilbo, Andy Serkis as Gollum, Elijah Wood as Frodo, Cate Blanchett as Galadriel. According to the Internet, at least three additional members of the cast from The Lord of the Rings will also be returning. Just perfect.

Bag End, the costumes, Sting, the scenery, the Ring — it seems so wonderfully familiar. It fits. They go together, in the same universe. They even have Fran Walsh and Philippa Boyens writing screenplay and producing, Howard Shore writing the music (of course), and Weta doing special effects (as well, I’m sure, as many other of the same people for various other behind-the-scenes jobs). The really brilliant part about it being the same people is that so much of it has already been created and figured out, so the continuity will be there. They’re even using the same stage for Bag End as they did twelve years ago.

I can just tell that they’re going to bring to The Hobbit the same care, attention to detail, and commitment to Tolkien’s works that they brought to The Lord of the Rings. I mean, really, Peter Jackson! I cannot wait. The countdown to December 14, 2012 begins now.

Leave a Reply

